In Meilen, under the direction of Ed Partyka, the Zurich Jazz Orchestra presents a classical jazz program with two top-class voices: Sandra Studer and Raphael Jost. The two met in 2015 at the ZJO-Theater Rigiblick co-production “My Life with Frank Sinatra” and got along so well that even after the nearly thirty performances (the show ran for five years), they repeatedly shared the stage.

So, it is obvious that Sinatra classics like “You Make Me Feel So Young” or “The Lady Is A Tramp” will not be missing at the Meilemer Jazz Evening. But the two vocalists will also be heard solo, Sandra Studer for example with the “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” title song “Moon River” and Raphael Jost with his composition “Mr. Slug”, arranged especially for the ZJO. For this, he likes to sit down at the piano himself.

Swiss Jazz Award winner Raphael Jost is one of the most promising piano and vocal talents on the Swiss jazz scene, with an unerring sense of interpretation, time, and timbre. Sandra Studer is best known as one of SRF’s most popular presenters, but she pursues a successful singing career in parallel: Her clear voice and convincing stage presence led her to the Eurovision Song Contest in 1991, for example, where she placed fifth; she can also be seen and heard regularly in musicals and theater productions.

Friday
9. September
2022
Fri
9. Sep
2022
19:00

In Meilen präsentiert das Zurich Jazz Orchestra unter der Leitung von Ed Partyka ein klassisches Jazzprogramm mit gleich zwei hochkarätigen Stimmen: Sandra Studer und Raphael Jost. Die zwei haben sich 2015 an der ZJO-Theater Rigiblick-Koproduktion «Mein Leben mit Frank Sinatra» kennen gelernt und sich so gut verstanden, dass es auch nach den beinahe dreissig Aufführungen (die Show lief während fünf Jahren) immer wieder zu gemeinsamen Konzerten kam.

Somit ist es klar, dass am Meilemer Jazzabend Sinatra-Klassiker wie «You Make Me Feel so Young» oder «The Lady Is a Tramp» nicht fehlen werden. Aber die beiden werden auch solo zu hören sein, Sandra Studer beispielsweise mit dem «Breakfast at Tiffany’s»-Titelsong «Moon River» und Raphael Jost mit seiner eigens fürs ZJO arrangierten Komposition «Mr. Slug». Dafür setzt er sich gerne auch mal selbst ans Klavier.

Der Swiss Jazz Award Preisträger Raphael Jost ist eines der vielversprechenden Klavier- und Gesangstalente der Schweizer Jazz-Szene, hat ein unbestechliches Gespür für Interpretation, Time und Timbre. Sandra Studer ist vor allem bekannt als eine der beliebtesten SRF-Moderatorinnen, verfolgt aber parallel dazu eine erfolgreiche Gesangskarriere: Ihre klare Stimme und überzeugende Bühnenpräsenz führten sie 1991 beispielsweise an den Eurovision Song Contest, wo sie den fünften Rang belegte; auch ist sie regelmässig in Musicals und Theaterproduktionen anzutreffen.

Freitag
9. September
2022
Fr
9. Sep
2022
19:00