Dear jazz friends and lovers of big band music

We could take this opportunity and complain about the fact that we’re facing the exact same problems as everybody else: cultural budgets are being cut down, the administrative effort is growing, and we depend on your help more than ever. Exactly: Just like everybody else.

Well, mainly because it is true. For year, the Zurich Jazz Orchestra has been walking the extra mile so that Zurich can have its own professional big band. The term «professional» does not refer to musical quality alone; it stands for everything else that’s required. Musicians strive to become even better musicians, to play together even more tightly. The band leader wants to become even more innovative, more independent, and the management works on doing its job even more accurately.

You’ve seen it coming: In order to be able to achieve all of this, we need your support. Almost 100 people in Switzerland support the ZJO on a regular basis by donating sums of 100.- to 1000.- Swiss Francs per year. If we were able to attract just a few more companies or institutions that could fund us with 1000.- to 5000.- per year, we’d be a lot closer to our goals and dreams. Our goals and dreams being of the kind that our audience benefits from immediately.

We would be delighted to welcome you as a member of the ZJO Friends association at one of our next concerts and to drink a toast with you. to the ZJO and the people contributing to its success. None of us wants cultural events – and jazz music, for that matter – to back down, just because everybody is cutting down budgets and complaining.

Many, many thanks for your support. We are positive that you won’t regret it.

Richard Vogel
President of the ZJO Friends association

Liebe Jazzfreunde,
liebe Big Band Freunde

Wir könnten jetzt klagen, dass es uns geht wie allen: Die Kulturbudgets werden gekürzt, der administrative Aufwand wird grösser, wir sind mehr denn je auf Hilfe angewiesen. Aber eben, das sagen alle.

Nicht zuletzt deshalb, weil es stimmt. Seit Jahren gibt das Zurich Jazz Orchestra alles, damit Zürich eine professionelle Big Band hat. Mit „professionell“ meinen wir nicht nur den Sound, sondern auch alles, was sonst noch dazu gehört. Die Musiker haben den Anspruch an sich selber, immer noch besser zu werden, immer noch genauer auf einander eingespielt, die Leader möchten innovativer werden, eigenständiger, und das Management noch präziser.

Sie ahnen, was jetzt kommt: Für all das brauchen wir Ihre Unterstützung. Gegen 100 Personen in der Schweiz unterstützen das ZJO regelmässig mit Förder-Beiträgen von zwischen 100.– und 1000.– Franken. Hätten wir noch ein paar Firmen oder Institutionen als Sponsoren mit Beträgen von 1000.– bis 5000.– Franken, so wären wir unseren Zielen und Träumen schon sehr viel näher. Mit dem Vorteil, dass wir Ziele und Träume haben, die unmittelbar dem Publikum zugute kommen.

Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie als Mitglied des ZJO Fördervereins zu begrüssen und an einem nächsten Konzert mit Ihnen anzustossen. Auf Sie, auf das ZJO, und auf Menschen, die dazu beitragen, dass die Kultur – und vor allem auch der Jazz – nicht klein beigeben muss, bloss weil alle sparen und jammern und sparen.

Vielen Dank für Ihr Engagement! Sie werden hören: Es lohnt sich.

Richard Vogel
Präsident des Fördervereins