Dear audience

The Zurich Jazz Orchestra is complete again. Ed Partyka has been at work since September, and we are very pleased to now introduce Jonas Inglin. Since October he is a permanent ZJO member as bass trombonist. He is a real jack-of-all-trades, also plays the sousaphone, has a master’s degree in music education, conducts a field band and a choir, and has been a ZJO adjunct until now. Welcome, Jonas!

In March the circle will be closed and “To My Beloved Ones”, the last CD of the trilogy with Steffen Schorn, will be released. We are very excited and hope to be able to celebrate the work this spring with you, dear audience, live at Jazzclub Moods.

Thomas Gansch and Ed Partyka met in 1999 at the Vienna Art Orchestra, Ed on bass trombone and Thomas on trumpet. We are very happy that they will continue this old friendship at the Zurich Jazz Orchestra. Ed Partyka will write the arrangements for the joint evening on February 3 at the Jazzclub Moods.

In February, we are launching the podcast series “Zurich Jazz Talks” to complement our concert series: In it you’ll find music, stories – relevant stuff, but also a bit of palaver with our guests and the musicians of the Zurich Jazz Orchestra. Because where music is composed, played and produced, stories emerge and questions arise. We ask them all and look forward to sharing the answers with you. There is much to learn on the last Friday of each month.

I would like to take this opportunity to express my heartfelt thanks to our friends association; they have supported us energetically and financially during this difficult time. The Zurich Jazz Orchestra is dependent on this support, because only with a broad base can the Big Band continue to exist. So, if you are not yet a member … you know … Thank you!

We will be happy to continue to inform you at short notice via our digital channels. As before, it cannot be ruled out that dates, programs, or venues will have to be changed at short notice, although we certainly hope not. In any case, we look forward to the second half of the 2021/2022 season with you!

Sincerely,
Bettina Uhlmann
Managing director

Liebes Publikum

Das Zurich Jazz Orchestra ist wieder komplett. Ed Partyka ist seit September am Werk und wir freuen uns sehr, Ihnen jetzt auch noch Jonas Inglin vorzustellen. Seit Oktober ist er als Bassposaunist festes ZJO-Mitglied. Er ist ein echter Tausendsassa, spielt auch Sousaphon, hat einen Master in Musikpädagogik, dirigiert eine Feldmusik und einen Chor und war bisher ZJO-Zuzüger. Willkommen, Jonas!

Im März ist es dann so weit: Der Kreis schliesst sich und «To My Beloved Ones», die letzte CD der Trilogie mit Steffen Schorn, erscheint. Wir freuen uns sehr und hoffen, das Werk im Frühling dieses Mal mit Ihnen, liebes Publikum, live im Jazzclub Moods feiern zu können.

Thomas Gansch und Ed Partyka lernten sich 1999 beim Vienna Art Orchestra kennen, Ed an der Bassposaune und Thomas an der Trompete. Wir freuen uns riesig, dass sie diese alte Freundschaft beim Zurich Jazz Orchestra weiter pflegen. Ed Partyka wird für den gemeinsamen Abend am 3. Februar im Jazzclub Moods die Arrangements schreiben.

Im Februar lancieren wir ergänzend zu unseren Konzertreihen die Podcast-Serie «Zurich Jazz Talks»: Darin finden sich Musik, Geschichten – Relevantes, aber auch ein bisschen Palaver mit unseren Gästen und den Musikerinnen und Musikern des Zurich Jazz Orchestra. Denn wo Musik komponiert, gespielt und produziert wird, entstehen Stories und tauchen Fragen auf. Wir stellen sie alle und freuen uns darauf, die Antworten mit Ihnen zu teilen. Es gibt viel zu erfahren, jeweils am letzten Freitag des Monats.

Es ist mir ein Anliegen, an dieser Stelle unserem Förderverein herzlich zu danken; dieser hat uns in dieser schwierigen Zeit tatkräftig und finanziell unterstützt. Das Zurich Jazz Orchestra ist auf diese Unterstützung angewiesen, denn nur mit einer breiten Basis kann die Big Band weiter fortbestehen. Also, falls Sie noch nicht Mitglied sind … Sie wissen schon … Vielen Dank!

Gerne informieren wir Sie auch weiterhin kurzfristig über unsere digitalen Kanäle. Es kann nach wie vor nicht ausgeschlossen werden, dass Termine, Programm oder Lokalitäten kurzfristig geändert werden müssen, auch wenn wir das natürlich nicht hoffen. Auf jeden Fall freuen wir uns auf die zweite Hälfte der Saison 2021/2022 mit Ihnen!

Mit herzlichen Grüssen
Geschäftsleitung
Bettina Uhlmann