Once again, the ZJO will conduct its search for a new musical director in the exact place where the new conductor will have to prove himself – on stage.
Ed Partyka has a lot of experience as a conductor and composer, has worked with the band before and thus just had to be included in our short list. David Grottschreiber has made a name for himself as a competent conductor of the Lucerne Orchestra, a band founded in 2007 by young jazz musicians. Lars Møller, saxophone player from Denmark, combines jazz with influences from other genres such as Indian music. He has been conducting big bands for more than ten years. The fourth inquiry really pleased us: Tim Hagans, a doyen of the quartet, already looks back on an extremely successful international career. The trumpet player and composer from America has been playing in some of the most influential big bands since the 70ties and has been conduction various formations for quite some while.

Tim Hagans
At age 20, Tim Hagans joined the band of Stan Kenton. He would stay for four years and then proceed to tour with the Woody Herman Big Band. Later on, he played concerts with the big bands of Bob Mintzer and Maria Schneider. Besides being a successful and sought-after sideman, Hagans released well over a dozen recordings of his own music, performed with smaller formations, such as «No Words» or the quartet album «Beautiful Lily» that strikes more lyrical notes. For these words, Hagans has been nominated for a Gramm three times. Every now and then, the trombone player has spent longer periods of time in Europe: From 1977 on, he lived in Sweden for four years and was a member of the Danish Radio Orchestra. Later, he was musical director of and composer in residence for the Norrbotten Big Band in Sweden.
> Concert September 19th, 2019
> Download photos: Tim Hagans_1 Tim Hagans_2 Tim Hagans_3
> www.timhagans.com

Ed Partyka
Chicago born and bred bass trombone and tuba player Ed Partyka has been living in Europe for more than 30 years and has been awarded with a whole array of awards at international contests. He studies jazz trombone with Jiggs Whigham at the Musikhochschule in Cologne, and composition under the guidance of Bob Brookmeyer. Ed Partyka has played in many relevant bands and worked as a composer, arranger and as a bandleader for well-known international jazz orchestras. Today, the 51-year-old resides in Austria and is a professor at Graz University where he teaches jazz theory. Besides, he directs the UMO Helsinki Jazz Orchestra. He has a reputation for being a first-lass bandleader who is able to push an orchestra without neglecting existing traditions.
> Concert November 15th, 2019
> Download photos: Ed Partyka_1 Ed Partyka_2
> www.epjo.de

David Grottschreiber
David Grottschreiber, born in 1982 in the vicinity of Hamburg, studied jazz trombone and composition in Hamburg, Rotterdam, and Luzern. As a composer, he has been awarded with many international composition awards. The town and canton of Lucerne gave him their “Werkbeitrag” (a grant for cultural promotion) in the category “composed music”.
In 2007, Grottschreiber founded the Lucerne Jazz Orchestra. As musical director, he performed in more than 100 concerts with this band in Switzerland as well as abroad and released numerous recordings with artists such as Dave Douglas, Ohad Talmor, Kalle Kalima, Claudio Puntin, or Nils Wogram. In addition, he used to be and still is a guest at the HR Bigband, the NDR Bigband, the Swiss Jazz Orchestra, the Subway Jazz Orchestra or the Metropole Orchestra. Grottschreiber teaches at the PH Lucerne.
> Concert March 6th, 2020
> Download photos: David Grottschreiber_1 David Grottschreiber_2

Lars Møller
Danish saxophone player, composer and conductor Lars Møller (*1966) is a well-known fixture in the Scandinavian jazz scene. After having lived in New York from 1987 to 1989 where he played with many legendary jazz musicians, Lars Møller went on to spend time in New Delhi in the early 90ties. There he would soak up the highly emotional classical Indian music. Since that time, he has been playing in Europa, the United States, Asia, Australia, and Southern America, and has been honored with various awards. From 2012 until 2015, he was artistic director of the Aarhus Jazz Orchestra (AJO) and during this time, he successfully developed the orchestra into one of the leading European big bands. From 2016 to 2017, has worked as composer in residence for the AJO. At this stage, he spends his time working on the development of the new international organization «Global Jazz Explorer Institute».
> Concert May 14th, 2020
> Download photos: Lars Møller_1 Lars Møller_2
> www.larsmoller.com

Das Zurich Jazz Orchestra verlegt die Suche nach einem neuen Musikalischen Leiter auf die Bühne.
Ed Partyka hat als Leiter und Komponist viel Erfahrung, hat einige Male mit der Band gearbeitet und durfte daher auf der Shortlist nicht fehlen. David Grottschreiber hat sich als kompetenter Leiter des 2007 von jungen Nachwuchsjazzern gegründeten Lucerne Orchestra einen Namen gemacht. Der dänische Saxofonist Lars Møller verbindet Jazz unter anderem mit Einflüssen indischer Musik und leitet seit gut zehn Jahren verschiedene Big Bands. Sehr gefreut hat uns die Anfrage des vierten Kandidaten, Tim Hagans. Als Doyen des Quartetts blickt er bereits auf eine überaus erfolgreiche internationale Karriere zurück. Der amerikanische Trompeter und Komponist spielte seit Mitte der 70er Jahre in einigen der wichtigsten Big Bands und agiert seit geraumer Zeit als künstlerischer Leiter verschiedener Formationen.

Tim Hagans
Mit 20 Jahren kam Tim Hagans in die Band von Stan Kenton. Er blieb dort vier Jahre lang und tourte anschliessend mit der Woody Herman Big Band. Später folgten Konzerte mit den Big Bands von Bob Mintzer und Maria Schneider. Neben der erfolgreichen Sideman-Karriere veröffentlichte Hagans ein gutes Dutzend Alben mit eigener Musik, die er in kleineren Formationen aufnahm, so etwa «No Words» oder das Quartett-Album «Beautiful Lily», welches lyrische Töne anschlägt. Für diese Arbeiten wurde Hagens dreimal für einen Grammy nominiert. Der Trompeter ist immer wieder in Europa anzutreffen: Ab 1977 lebte er vier Jahre lang in Schweden und war Mitglied des Danish Radio Orchestra. Später leitete er während 14 Jahren die Norrbotten Big Band in Schweden als Composer in Residence.
> Konzert vom 19. September 2019
> Fotos zum Download: Tim Hagans_1 Tim Hagans_2 Tim Hagans_3
> www.timhagans.com

Ed Partyka
Der in Chicago geborene Bassposaunist und Tubist Ed Partyka lebt seit fast 30 Jahren in Europa und ist Preisträger vieler internationaler Wettbewerbe. An der Musikhochschule in Köln studierte er Jazzposaune bei Jiggs Whigham und Komposition unter der Leitung von Bob Brookmeyer. Ed Partyka hat bereits bei zahlreichen bedeutenden Big Bands gespielt und war als Komponist, Arrangeur und Bandleader für prominente internationale Jazz-Orchester tätig. Heute lebt der 51-Jährige in Österreich, arbeitet an der Grazer Uni und an der Hochschule Luzern und leitet ausserdem das UMO Helsinki Jazz Orchestra. Ihm eilt der Ruf voraus, ein erstklassiger Bandleader zu sein, der ein Orchester weiterbringt, ohne die vorhandene Tradition zu vernachlässigen.
> Konzert vom 15. November 2019
> Fotos zum Download: Ed Partyka_1 Ed Partyka_2
> www.epjo.de

David Grottschreiber
David Grottschreiber, geboren 1982 in der Nähe von Hamburg, studierte Jazzposaune und Komposition in Hamburg, Rotterdam und Luzern. Als Komponist wurde er mit mehreren internationalen Kompositionspreisen ausgezeichnet und von Stadt und Kanton Luzern erhielt er den Werkbeitrag in der Sparte «Komponierte Musik».
2007 gründete er das Lucerne Jazz Orchestra, mit dem er als musikalischer Leiter über 100 Konzerte im In- und Ausland gab, zahlreiche CDs veröffentlichte und mit Künstlern wie Dave Douglas, Ohad Talmor, Kalle Kalima, Claudio Puntin oder Nils Wogram zusammenarbeitete. Überdies war und ist er Gast bei der HR Bigband, der NDR Bigband, dem Swiss Jazz Orchestra, dem Subway Jazz Orchestra oder dem Metropole Orchestra. Grottschreiber lebt und unterrichtet in Luzern.
> Konzert vom 6. März 2020
> Fotos zum Download: David Grottschreiber_1 David Grottschreiber_2

Lars Møller
Der dänische Saxophonist, Komponist und Dirigent Lars Møller (*1966) ist in Skandinavien eine bekannte Grösse im Jazz. Nachdem er von 1987 bis 89 in New York gelebt und mit einer Reihe legendärer Jazzmusiker gespielt hatte, verbrachte Lars Møller in den frühen 90er Jahren längere Zeit in New Delhi und assimilierte die hochemotionale indische klassische Musik. Seitdem hat er in Europa, den USA, Asien, Australien und Südamerika gespielt und mehrere Auszeichnungen erhalten. Von 2012 bis 2015 war er künstlerischer Leiter des Aarhus Jazz Orchestra (AJO) und entwickelte die Band erfolgreich zu einer der führenden europäischen Big Bands. Von 2016 bis 2017 arbeitete er als Composer in Residence beim AJO. Derzeit verbindet er seine internationale Arbeit mit dem Aufbau seiner neuen Organisation «Global Jazz Explorer Institute».
> Konzert vom 14. Mai 2020
> Fotos zum Download: Lars Møller_1 Lars Møller_2
> www.larsmoller.com