The Europeans can confidently claim to be able to hold something against America, the country of origin, when it comes to jazz. A real heavy weight in this matter is the Sardinian Paolo Fresu. Shortly after his 60th birthday the lyrical trumpeter with the big tone and the fine ear will be our guest for the first time. But even if the concert date had fallen on his birthday, it would have been quite possible to meet him on stage: Like few other musicians, Fresu lives literally on and off the stage. The student of trumpeter Enriko Rava, for example, played fifty concerts in a row on his home island of Sardinia on the occasion of his 50th birthday.
Like many other trumpeters, Fresu’s first musical spark was Miles Davis. The youngster played the version of the standard «Autumn Leaves» (from the album «Miles in Europe», 1963) until his mother had to stop him.
A Miles repertoire in the adaptation of Gil Evans will also be the focus of the evening’s programme: Among others, Fresu and the ZJO will perform highlights from programmes such as «Porgy & Bess» and «Miles Ahead©. We are already curious to see how the extended ZJO sound body (with tuba and French horns) mixes with Fresu’s dark sound.

Thursday
4. March
2021
Thu
4. Mar
2021
20:30
Jazzclub Moods
Schiffbaustrasse 6
8005 Zürich
Map

Durchaus selbstbewusst dürfen die Europäer behaupten, in Sachen Jazz dem Ursprungsland Amerika immer wieder einiges entgegenhalten zu können. Ein in dieser Sache veritabler Trumpf ist der Sarde Paolo Fresu. Kurz nach seinem 60. Geburtstag wird der lyrische Trompeter mit dem grossen Ton und dem feinen Gehör zum ersten Mal bei uns zu Gast sein. Doch auch wenn der Konzerttermin auf seinen Geburtstag gefallen wäre, wäre es gut möglich gewesen, dass man ihn auf der Bühne angetroffen hätte: Wie wenige andere Musiker lebt Fresu förmliche auf und von der Bühne. Der Schüler des Trompeters Enriko Rava spielte beispielsweise anlässlich seines 50. Geburtstages fünfzig Konzerte in Folge auf seiner Heimatinsel Sardinien.
Wie bei vielen anderen Trompetern auch war bei Fresu Miles Davis der erste musikalische Funkensprung. Die Version des Standards «Autumn Leaves» (Album «Miles in Europe», 1963) spielte der Jugendliche so lange nach, bis ihn seine Mutter stoppen musste.
Ein Miles-Repertoire in der Bearbeitung von Gil Evans wird auch der Programmschwerpunkt an diesem Abend sein: Unter anderem wird Fresu und das ZJO mit Highlights aus Programmen «Porgy & Bess» und «Miles Ahead» zu hören sein. Bereits jetzt sind wir gespannt, wie sich der erweiterte ZJO-Klangkörper (mit Tuba und Waldhörnern) mit Fresus dunklem Klang mischt.

Donnerstag
4. März
2021
Do
4. Mrz
2021
20:30
Jazzclub Moods
Schiffbaustrasse 6
8005 Zürich
Karte