Being 37 years of age, David Grottschreiber is the youngest among our four candidates. He is German, resides in Lucerne, plays the trombone and is a rewarded composer and musical director. He has worked with various European big bands and is a co-founder of the Lucerne Jazz Orchestra which he also conducted for more than ten years. He was also the orchestra’s arranger and conductor.
Grottschreiber has obvious links to movies and cinema: The evening’s second set will present the music for the movie «Cinema Paradiso». The German composer has worked the soundtrack to the Ennio Morricone classic into a suite for jazz orchestra.

David Grottschreiber
David Grottschreiber, born in 1982 in the vicinity of Hamburg, studied jazz trombone and composition in Hamburg, Rotterdam, and Luzern. As a composer, he has been awarded with many international composition awards. The town and canton of Lucerne gave him their “Werkbeitrag” (a grant for cultural promotion) in the category “composed music”.
In 2007, Grottschreiber founded the Lucerne Jazz Orchestra. As musical director, he performed in more than 100 concerts with this band in Switzerland as well as abroad and released numerous recordings with artists such as Dave Douglas, Ohad Talmor, Kalle Kalima, Claudio Puntin, or Nils Wogram. In addition, he used to be and still is a guest at the HR Bigband, the NDR Bigband, the Swiss Jazz Orchestra, the Subway Jazz Orchestra or the Metropole Orchestra. Grottschreiber teaches at the PH Lucerne.

Friday
6. March
2020
Fri
6. Mar
2020
20:30
Musikklub Mehrspur
Pfingstweidstrasse 96
8005 Zürich
Map

Mit 37 Jahren ist David Grottschreiber der jüngste der vier Kandidaten. Der bereits vielfach ausgezeichnete Deutsche mit Luzerner Wohnort hat als Posaunist, Komponist und Bandleader mit etlichen europäischen Big Bands gearbeitet. Als Mitbegründer des Lucerne Jazz Orchestra war er mehr als 10 Jahre lang dessen Leiter, Arrangeur und Dirigent.
Das Gefäss «Inner Voices» stellt Mitglieder aus der Band in den Vordergrund und soll einen festen Platz im Jahresprogramm bekommen. So werden im ersten Teil des Konzertes neben Solisten auch Arrangements ins Zentrum gerückt, welche Grottschreiber mit der Band erarbeitet hat.
Auch bei Grottschreiber sind Bezüge zu Kino und Film offenkundig: In der zweiten Hälfte des Abends steht unter anderem die Musik zum Film «Cinema Paradiso» auf dem Programm. Der Deutsche verarbeitete den Soundtrack des Filmklassikers von Ennio Morricone zu einer Suite für Jazzorchester.

David Grottschreiber
David Grottschreiber, geboren 1982 in der Nähe von Hamburg, studierte Jazzposaune und Komposition in Hamburg, Rotterdam und Luzern. Als Komponist wurde er mit mehreren internationalen Kompositionspreisen ausgezeichnet und von Stadt und Kanton Luzern erhielt er den Werkbeitrag in der Sparte «Komponierte Musik».
2007 gründete er das Lucerne Jazz Orchestra, mit dem er als musikalischer Leiter über 100 Konzerte im In- und Ausland gab, zahlreiche CDs veröffentlichte und mit Künstlern wie Dave Douglas, Ohad Talmor, Kalle Kalima, Claudio Puntin oder Nils Wogram zusammenarbeitete. Überdies war und ist er Gast bei der HR Bigband, der NDR Bigband, dem Swiss Jazz Orchestra, dem Subway Jazz Orchestra oder dem Metropole Orchestra. Grottschreiber lebt und unterrichtet in Luzern.

Freitag
6. März
2020
Fr
6. Mrz
2020
20:30
Musikklub Mehrspur
Pfingstweidstrasse 96
8005 Zürich
Karte